Before: Skull

After:Skullcropped

 

For this project I created a portrait of the skull model. I used graphite and charcoal for my mediums in this piece. I spent a total of 12 hours on this piece outside of class.

I incorporated atmospheric prospective into this piece to recreate the realistic nature of the model. I believe I captured the form of the skeleton as well as detail. My strengths of the piece are the shading and value. Some things I would like to improve upon in the future are the use of negative space and setting a more obvious focal point. In the cropped  image of the original piece, the point is more defined and will not confuse the viewer with the unnecessary bones below.

I have learned much from this project. I have further improved my ability to draw with multiple mediums as well as pace myself and set specific deadlines to have drawings done by. From this piece, I have learned the importance of setting focal points and detail, as too much of one can take away from the other. This lesson will help me in future projects.

 

 

This entry was posted in Non-Time Based and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

