Survey of Animation Nursery Rhyme – Humpty Dumpty

For my nursery rhyme stop motion, I researched Berthold Bartosch. Bartosch was Austrian filmmaker who known for his animation. His early works included “The Ornament of a Loving Heart”, “The Adventures of Prince Achmed” and “Doctor Dolittle”, which he worked on with German animator Lotte Reiniger during his time in Berlin. In 1930, Bartosch moved to Pais where he created more films, including his most remembered, “The Idea.” He also started to created an antiwar film “St. Francias or Nightmare and Dreams”, but it was destroyed. Bartosch continued to work in Paris until his death in 1968.
Bartoch’s style is very distinct. He uses mainly cut out animation within his works as well as a multilane to create his work. An example of this is the film, “The Adventures of Prince Achmed” where the whole films uses this techniques. In his early works, Bartosch uses a lot of black silhouettes for objects, which can again be seen throughout the film. Berthold Bartosch also uses a limited movement to his puppets/objects, giving them a very straight movement. This is shown in his most memorable film, “The Idea.” The characters in this films area not confined to being black silhouettes, but are still shown to move in a flat way.
In my animation, I attempted to use Bartosch’s limited animation technique as well as using paper cut outs for my models. For my Humpty Dumpty model, I used two bodies, and two pairs of arms and legs which i could interchange as well as an additional face. I used the paper cut out method to animate my nursery rhyme.
I believe I was moderately successful in capturing the style of Bartosch. I believed I captured his basic style of paper cut outs moving in a straight way. I struggled however, in creating the depth between objects and background that was shown by his use of the multiplane.
Works Cited
Wiki – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Berthold_Bartosch
Berthold Bartosch –  http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0059292/bio?ref_=nm_ov_bio_sm#trivia
The Idea – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MplLxhyzWSg
Video | This entry was posted in Survey of Animation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

